June 15, 2015

Short Review: Declan + Coraline (Ruthless People #0.5) by J.J. McAvoy

Title: Declan + Corlaine
Author: J.J. McAvoy
Series: Ruthless People #0.5
Genre: contemporary romance
You Don’t Find Love, It Finds You.

Declan + Coraline takes place two years before the start of the Ruthless People. Twenty-three-year-old Coraline Wilson is fresh out of college and just wants to experience life to the fullest for the first time. On her journey towards self-discovery, she ends up meeting twenty-seven-year-old Declan Callahan. They fall for each other hard and fast…but their families may prove to be problematic…

A Ruthless People Prequel Novella (about 46,000 words)

Amazon US | Amazon UK


Declan + Coraline by J.J. McAvoy
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

3.5 that was nice STARS

“You have always thought of the family before anything else, even yourself. Now all you want is a woman? I don’t care if she’s black, purple, green, Irish or not. You should have what you want.”

Well, that was quite interesting. You guys probably know how much I love the Ruthless People series and going back to before it all happened and seeing how Declan and Coraline came together was very entertaining.

Both characters were already on my favourites list, but having a whole book about them is something else. We get to see their whole history, where they came from and how they ended up being an integral part of the Callahan family.

It's a fun and quick read, with the usual fluid writing style I was already accustomed to with Ms. McAvoy. Of course there are a lot of Callahan shenanigans going on. After all, what would a book in the Ruthless People Series be without a little blood shed and mayhem, right?

All in all, a good addition to the series and for fans of Caroline and Declan a welcome treat. I give it 3.5 stars and that's not a bad thing, I just find rating novellas really hard sometimes because of the length. The moment I was getting into the flow of things it ended. But that's not to say the story wasn't well rounded or unfinished, just a little short. I always want more.

But as a bonus for all the Liam fans out there, we get to see Mr. Callahan without Bloody Melody and it's FUN! ;D

No comments

Post a Comment