November 27, 2015

Blog Tour {ARC Review + Giveaway}: The Truth About Him by M. O'Keefe

Title: The Truth About Him
Author: Molly O'Keefe
Series: Everything I Left Unsaid #2
Genre: contemporary romance, romantic suspense
For fans of Christina Lauren and Jodi Ellen Malpas comes the next novel in M. O’Keefe’s breathtakingly sexy series about a woman called into a journey of the heart, body, and soul.

We played our roles, told each other lies.

But now Dylan is no longer just a mysterious deep voice on the other end of the line. We’re face-to-face and our relationship is very, very real.

We still have secrets—but so much is crystal clear:

The thrilling danger.

The raw, naked desire.

The need to keep feeling the way he makes me feel. Forever.

Dylan is putting up walls, trying to keep me safe, but he can’t shut me out. He has seen my darkness and rescued me. Now it’s my turn, if only he will let me.

Amazon US | Amazon UK | iBooks | Kobo | Barnes & Noble


The Truth About Him by Molly O'Keefe
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

4.5 **bedrock** STARS

“There were no bridges that she could build to get them back to where they’d been yesterday.
She’s burned everything to the ground.”

The Truth About Him is the sequel to Everything I Left Unsaid and also the last part in a the two part series (edit: apparently there is going to be more to this series in the future). I said this before, but M. O’Keefe was a completely new author to me until I picked up these books and I can only recommend giving her a try. Now that all parts are available for purchase the reward will be a lot higher without having to suffer the cliffhanger trap. And just to be perfectly clear, the second book was even better than the first one.

The Truth About Him picks up right where the last book left us. Annie’s past has caught up to her and it isn’t pretty. All the struggle and pain comes to a very dramatic closure. Ater that Annie and Dylan are left with the fallout and finding a way to cope and move on.

Everything I Left Unsaid mostly dealt with Annie’s story - getting free from her husband and finding herself. This second instalment still revolves around the love story that started with some rather epic phone calls, but it focuses more on Dylan, his past and his family.

Really discovering Dylan is the fun part. For the last few years he has lead a reclusive life on top of his mountain, building engines and not getting involved with things. The moment he steps down from his hideaway place and he starts paying attention to Annie and less so to his surroundings, things start to go haywire and his own past rears its ugly head. And it all is very well worth your time.

“Love is a knife that really only cuts one way, and that’s deep.”

How can I describe this beautiful writing. Maybe effortless is the word. It’s not incredibly detailed or flowery, but very precise and easily flowing. There is a nice rhythm to her story telling that sucks you in and won’t let you stop until the story is told.

I loved the care with which she moved the relationships in this book. There is no jumping from point a to z. Ms. O’Keefe takes the time to make the characters feel the pain and really consider their actions. It was an emotional read and a nice way to meet some rather unique characters. Some of which I’m sure will get their say in future instalments or maybe spin-offs. I for one would like to read more. ;D

**ARC very kindly provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Also available in theis series


Barnes & Noble

About the Author

Molly O'Keefe has always known she wanted to be a writer (except when she wanted to be a florist or a chef and the brief period of time when she considered being a cowgirl). And once she got her hands on some romances, she knew exactly what she wanted to write.

She published her first Harlequin romance at age 25 and hasn't looked back. She loves exploring every character's road towards happily ever after.

Originally from a small town outside of Chicago, she went to university in St. Louis where she met and fell in love with the editor of her school newspaper. They followed each other around the world for several years and finally got married and settled down in Toronto, Ontario. They welcomed their son into their family in 2006, and their daughter in 2008. When she's not at the park or cleaning up the toy room, Molly is working hard on her next novel, trying to exercise, stalking Tina Fey on the internet and dreaming of the day she can finish a cup of coffee without interruption.

No comments

Post a Comment